Faculty Senate

at the University of Evansville

Scheduled Meetings

September 7, 2021
October 5, 2021
November 2, 2021
December 7, 2021
January 11, 2022
February 1, 2022
March 1, 2022
April 5, 2022
May 3, 2022

All scheduled meetings of the Faculty Senate begin at 4:00 p.m. and will be held via Zoom until further notice.



Comments, concerns and updates can be directed to Meg Atwater-Singer.

Faculty Senate News

Faculty Representatives to the standing committees of the Board of Trustees:

  • Academic Affairs Robert Baines
  • Athletics James MacLeod
  • Diversity Lisa Nikolidakis
  • Enrollment & Marketing Kristy Miller
  • Institutional Advancement Meg Atwater-Singer
  • International Engagement Lorena Andueza
  • Investment Chris Brockman
  • Student Affairs Tamara Wandel

These terms end in May 2022.

Realignment Review Ad Hoc Committee

  • Education/Health Sciences: Melissa Ray
  • Fine Arts: Alanna Keenan
  • Humanities: Pat Thomas
  • Library: Danielle Williams
  • Natural & Mathematical Sciences: Dale Edwards
  • Social Sciences: Mark Shifflet
  • Engineering: representation waived
  • Business: representation waived

Thumbnail example

The Faculty participate in governing the university through the Faculty Senate, various college and department committees, and through several campus wide administrative committees. The responsibility of the Faculty is in educational policy rather than administrative decisions.

The Faculty, acting with the President, determine all matters of educational policy with respect to academic programs including degree requirements, honorary degrees, academic standards, and general University development. Acting on behalf of the Faculty, the Senate receives, reviews and acts on reports, recommendations, and proposals from its standing committees and individual Senators. Faculty Senate business is conducted through regular meetings of the whole, through the Executive Committee and through its standing committees. The Senate submits recommendations in writing to the University President. The President and appropriate staff review each recommendation and the President either approves, disapproves or returns the recommendation for further Senate consideration.

Administrative committees are appointed by the university administration and are not offically part of the Senate system of governance. However, their actions directly impact the faculty and the entire university and for this reason they are also listed on these pages.

A complete discussion of university governance and the role of the Faculty Senate and its committees can be found in the Faculty Manual.